Harry Nessler opened the 1740 House in 1968 and operated it until the 1980s. His goal was to create a “motel-style” inn along the scenic Delaware River and remodel the rooms so that each accommodation could have a view of the water. The view of the surrounding landscape became the most marketable aspect of the inn, because it was, and still is, a unique quality.
In November 2010, Joe Luccaro of HollyHedge Estate; Robert Blanche of Rice's Market; Ross Choate, managing partner of Kennedy Ford; and Richard Gastineau of Icon Biotech took ownership of the 1740 House. A good friend, and longtime sailing buddy, Dr. Neil Cohen, later joined them as a co-owner. Together, they were able to bring the 1740 House back to its former prominence.
Joe Luccaro sees the 1740 House as an extension of HollyHedge— a place for excess wedding guests to find accommodations when HollyHedge has no availabilities, and a more private riverside venue for smaller events and meetings.
The individuals who currently own and operate the 1740 House are also residents of Bucks County, and believe that 1740 House offers visitors an opportunity to enjoy the serene landscape and small-town hospitality that they experience each day.
“The area has been good to all of us,” says Joe Luccaro. “We think you will find the same true when you visit.”
© Copyright 2012 HollyHedge
What Harry Nessler envisioned when he bought the old Burger farm in 1964 has stood the test of time...
The village residents opposed the idea from the start - after all, the Black Bass Hotel had been there since the boatmen's day on the Delaware Canal. Nessler's project would intrude on village life with a modern kind of visitor. The working farm that had perished in the flood of 1955 had been part of Lumberville since 1860 but those days were gone. With the help of architect Donald Hedges, designer for the Bucks County Playhouse, Nessler built his vision.
- Bucks County Herald
All that remains of the original farm is the central part of the inn. Two-story wings extending from either side hold guest rooms facing the river, with balconies that allow the guests to step outside and feel the river breezes.
The building does not have the "motel" look that residents feared. It is charming, colonial architecture nestled into the hill that descends from River Road to the canal and river. It was so carefully designed to fit the site that visitors often mistake it for a restoration of an old building.